Monday, July 27, 2015

Discworld: Crivens!

With Wee Free Men, Pratchett introduces Tiffany Aching, a nine-year-old girl who will become a witch and will be the main character in his final book which will be coming out soon.  This is another books written for Juveniles, and was originally described as not being part of the Discworld.  However, slowly we hear familiar country names and places. 

There is also the return of the Nac Mac Feegle, the little pictsies from Carpe Jugulum.  These are a different tribe, but they will be the ones we learn so much about.

And other than short stories, I think this is the first Discworld book that doesn't have Death in it.


Recurring characters and themes that appear in this book:

Big Yan
Daft Wullie
Granny Aching
Jolly Sailor Tobacco
Miss Perspicacia Tick
Mrs. Snapperly
Not-as-big-as-Medium-Sized-Jock-but-bigger-than-Wee-Jock Jock
Pictsies / Wee Free Men
Quirm College for Young Ladies
Rob Anybody
Roland, son of the Baron
Special Sheep Liniment
The Baron of the chalk
The Goode Childe’s Book of Faerie Tales
The Nac Mac Feegle
The Queen of the Fairies
Tiffany Aching
Wentworth Aching
Yellow sick toad

No comments:

Google+ Badge